Neil Young Announces 'Monsanto Years' Release Date and Tracklist, Shares New Video: Watch

Michael Kovac/WireImage

Neil Young attends the 56th GRAMMY Awards P&E Wing Event Honoring Neil Young at The Village Recording Studios on Jan. 21, 2014 in Los Angeles.

Neil Young, the veteran rocker, digital music entrepreneur and eco-warrior will release his new concept album The Monsanto Years on June 29 through Reprise Records. 

Young’s latest effort, which he cut with Promise Of The Real, an act that includes Willie Nelson's sons Lukas and Micah, is described as an “ecologically / environmentally focused” recording and will be available in a special CD and DVD package, and in vinyl and digital formats. The vinyl offering will arrive a month later, though an exact date hasn’t been revealed (remember, this is a guy who described the current buzz around vinyl as a “fashion statement”). 

The Canadian artist and founder of the PonoMusic digital service has shared the official video for album track "A Rock Star Bucks a Coffee Shop,” on which he gives a musical middle finger to Starbucks and rhymes “Monsanto” with “let our farmers grow.” Watch the clip below.

Young, a founder of Farm Aid, has been particularly vocal in recently years about his disdain for Monsanto, the agricultural giant which produces genetically modified seeds. He recently performed an acoustic version of his new offering's title track during an anti-GMO event in Maui.

The 69-year-old isn’t showing signs of slowing down. He released two albums last year, A Letter Home and the orchestral Storytone.

"The Monsanto Years" track listing:
1. A New Day For Love
2.  Wolf Moon
3.  People Want To Hear About Love
4.  Big Box
5.  A Rock Star Bucks A Coffee Shop
6.  Workin' Man
7.  Rules Of Change
8.  Monsanto Years
9.  If I Don't Know

"The Monsanto Years" DVD track listing:
1.  Big Box
2.  A Rock Star Bucks A Coffee Shop
3.  Rules Of Change
4.  Workin' Man
5.  Monsanto Years
6.  A New Day For Love
7.  Wolf Moon
8.  People Want To Hear About Love
9.  If I Don't Know


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.