Hot Chip Makes Sly Commentary on UK Elections

Hot Chip

Hot Chip, the U.K. electronic pop and groove band, "re-skinned" its website this morning in advance of new album Why Make Sense? (out May 19, Domino) to coincide with the U.K. elections. In honor of the political contest that finds the incumbent Conservative leader David Cameron facing a serious challenge from center-left Labor leader Ed Miliband, the band's site now links to the BBC if you're in the UK and the Drudge Report in the U.S., as the title track to the new album plays.

In keeping with the Why Make Sense? album title, the sites garble and misspell headlines on the news pages. For example, the Drudge Report site has its usual provocative headlines like "Obama will arm gangs for race war…" rendered as "Oabma wlil arm gangs for race war..."  while the BBC site's top story is "UK praty ledaers cast tehir votes" ("UK party leaders cast their votes").

The clever promotion follows a similarly innovative album art concept, designed by Nick Relph. Using a color palate of 501 hues and slight design variations, every copy of Why Make Sense? will be one-of-a-kind.

The group's sixth album was recorded in Oxfordshire and London and produced by Hot Chip with Mark Ralph and is the  follow up to 2012’s acclaimed In Our Heads. In addition to the new album, the band is releasing a special edition album featuring a bonus EP with 4 new tracks recorded during the album sessions.

The band is currently on a global tour and kicks off its U.S. summer tour dates on May 25 at the Sasquatch Music Festival.

Why Make Sense? tracklisting:

1. Huarache Lights
2. Love Is The Future
3. Cry For You
4. Started Right
5. White Wine and Fried Chicken
6. Dark Night
7. Easy To Get
8. Need You Now
9. So Much Further To Go
10. Why Make Sense?

Separate EP track list

1. Burning Up
2. Separate
3. Move With Me
4. Re-harmonize



The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.