John LoFrumento to Receive Visionary Leadership Award at Songwriters Hall of Fame (Exclusive)

Photo: Courtesy ASCAP

John LoFrumento, the recently retired CEO of ASCAP, will be honored with the Visionary Leadership Award at the 46th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Dinner next month.

The accolade recognizes a member of the SHOF board of directors who has made a “significant contribution in furthering the ongoing mission of the organization” and in elevating it to a “level of prominence and distinction.” LoFrumento will be the third recipient of the award, after SHOF chairman emeritus Hal David and former BMI president and CEO Del Bryant.

ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento Announces Retirement

LoFrumento served with ASCAP for 33 years, including 17 as the organization’s head. He joined in 1981 as controller, then held posts as CFO and COO before rising to CEO in 1997. During his tenure at the helm, membership grew from 70,000 members to 520,000, while distribution of royalties more than doubled, from $417 million to $875 million. 

With LoFrumento in the top job, ASCAP created MusicPro Insurance, an insurance agency for music professionals; and the I Create Music Expo. In 1995, ASCAP issued the first Internet license for music performance, according to ASCAP; and more recently LoFrumento has been on the front lines in ASCAP efforts to update the decades-old consent decree with the U.S. Department of Justice.

Exclusive: Fun. Frontman Nate Ruess to Receive Hal David Starlight Award at Songwriters Hall of Fame

"As a senior vice president of the SHOF organization, John's remarkable acumen in financial and executive matters, as well as his tremendous foresight, have contributed to his being a vital team member and has enabled SHOF not only to achieve its early goals, but also to continue to expand its ongoing mission," comments SHOF president and CEO Linda Moran in a statement. "We are grateful for John’s dedication, passion and compassion for the the songwriting community and especially for the Songwriters Hall of Fame.”

The annual gala will be held at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York. Inductees at this year's Songwriters Hall of Fame event include Bobby Braddock, Willie Dixon, Robert Hunter & Jerry Garcia, Toby Keith, Cyndi Lauper and Linda Perry. Also, Van Morrison will be feted with the Johnny Mercer Award, Lady Gaga will be bestowed the first-ever Contemporary Icon Award and Fun.’s Nate Ruess will receive the Hal David Starlight Award.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.