Daniel Johns Announces Debut Solo Album, Shares 'Cool On Fire' Video: Watch

Daniel Johns
 Harold David

Daniel Johns has announced the title, release date and tracklist for his first solo album, and he’s shared another track from it. 

The former Silverchair frontman’s set will be called Talk, and it’ll drop worldwide on May 22.

The Australian artist has offered a taste of things to come with “Cool On Fire,” a crafty R&B track which was co-written and produced by Lorde collaborator Joel Little. Little has also contributed his production talents to album tracks “Warm Hands" and “Aerial Love,” the first song lifted from it. 

Ex-Silverchair Frontman Daniel Johns Releases First Solo Song: Listen

Melbourne duo Damn Moroda and writer/producer Louis Schoorl worked on such tracks as “Goin’ On 16”, “We Are Golden”, “Too Many” and “New York,” while Julian Hamilton, a founding member of the ARIA Award-winning electronic duo the Presets helped write “By Your Side” and “Dissolve” (Hamilton also co-wrote Silverchair’s 2007 song “Straight Lines”).

On tracks “Imagination”, “Chained” and “Faithless,” Johns recruited the talents of hip hop producers Styalz and M-Phazes (who contributed cuts on Eminem’s Grammy-winning Marshall Mathers LP2). Watch "Cool On Fire" below.

Talk is Johns’ first album release for eight years. His last longplayer, Silverchair’s Young Modern from 2007, capped a brilliant career for the one-time grunge rock trio. Each of the band's five albums peaked at No. 1 in Australia, and Silverchair won more ARIA Awards than any other artist in history (21). The group went on "indefinite hiatus" in May 2011, having sold more than six million career albums.

Ex-Silverchair Singer Daniel Johns Drops NSFW Video for 'Aerial Love': Watch

The singer’s new music is from a different solar system to the style Silverchair launched their career with in the early ‘90s. He admits his musical evolution hasn’t fulfilled everyone’s wishes. “I’ve always felt like most people hate everything I do but thankfully there’s always been an enthusiastic minority who seem to ‘get' it. That’s fine with me,” he says in a statement. “Anything that appeals to everyone tends to suck anyway.”

Johns made a rare live appearance at the March 24 APRA Awards in Sydney when he opened the show with a performance of "Preach." He’s slated to play Sydney’s Vivid Festival on May 28 and 29. Watch his APRAs performance below.

Talk tracklist:

1. Aerial Love
2. We Are Golden
3. By Your Side
4. Preach
5. Too Many
6. Cool On Fire
7. Imagination
8. Dissolve
9. Chained
10. Sleepwalker
11. Faithless 
12. Warm Hands
13. Going On 16
14. New York
15. Good Luck


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.