Exclusive: Listen to The Weepies New Title Song 'Sirens,' from Their First New Album in Five Years

Robert Sebree
The Weepies

Beloved indie-folk duo The Weepies are back!

Husband and wife Deb Talan and Steve Tannen are returning with Sirens, their first full-length release in five years, dropping April 28. 

"This was a helluva a year for us Weepies. Frightening dire diagnoses, hospitals, and helping angels everywhere, but it seemed like maybe this was also the end of everything -- like the journey was over,"  Steven Tannen tells Billboard about the past few years, which included Talan's breast cancer diagnosis.

"Sirens were mermaids that led sailors to their doom with their sweet voices. It's also a reference to an ambulance siren, and together they summed up the feeling of the year: otherworldly, hopeful, terrible," Tannen explains about the album's title. "This album is a record of that time for us, when all of that was front and center. Deb sings 'for me, for you, for me, for you, for you, for you, for you' as an echo of the wee-ooo wee-ooo of an ambulance siren. Then the cello comes in with a super-low sad tone, the piano does a higher and more beautiful echo -- but it's all way underneath, and the backstory is way underneath -- you can't really speak of it."

Listen to the title track below, which Billboard is exclusively premiering.


For the first time in five years, the band is heading out on tour. They start their U.S. tour May 29 in Madison, Wis. The full list of tour dates is below. 

Fri, May 29      Madison, WI @ The Majestic Theatre

Sat, May 30     Chicago, IL @ Park West

Sun, May 31    Minneapolis, MN @ Fitzgerald Theatre

Tue, June 2     Salt Lake City, UT @ The Depot

Wed, June 3    Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory Concert House

Thur, June 4    Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre

Fri, June 5       Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall

Sun, June 7     San Francisco, CA @ Fillmore           

Tue, June 9     Los Angeles, CA @ Fonda Theatre

Wed, June 10  Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern

Thur, June 11  Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom

Fri, June 12     Albuquerque, NM @ BioPark Zoo (Zoo Music Concert Series)

Sat, June 13    Boulder, CO @ TBA

Mon, June 15   Dallas, TX @ Granada Theatre

Tue, June 16   Austin, TX @ Paramount Theatre

Thur, June 18  Nashville, TN @ City Winery

Fri, June 19     Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse

Sat, June 20    Charlotte, NC @ Neighborhood Theatre

Sun, June 21   Falls Church, VA @ State Theatre

Mon, June 22   Annapolis, MD @ Rams Head On Stage

Tue, June 23   Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Thur, June 25  Norwalk, CT @ Norwalk Concert Hall

Fri, June 26     Boston, MA @ Wilbur Theatre

Sat, June 27    New York, NY @ Town Hall

Sun, June 28   Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom

Mon, June 29   Traverse City, MI @ City Opera House

Tue, June 30   Detroit, MI @ Magic Bag

Wed, July 1    Iowa City, IA @ Englert Theatre