Billboard Japan Music Awards: See Winners of the Combined Twitter & Karaoke Votes

TPG/Getty Images
Nishino Kana held a concert on Saturday April 6, 2013 in Hong Kong, China. 

As part of the Billboard Japan Music Awards 2014, Billboard Japan asked users to vote for the Song of the Year via Twitter and karaoke. Now, the results are out.

Users were able to choose any song which charted on the Billboard Japan Hot 100 Year-End Chart. A tweet with the song's title, artist name and hashtag #BJMA2014 counted as one vote. Also, a song performed at any karaoke stations provided by Daiichi Kosho services counted as one vote. The results were combined 50:50 to choose the annual Artist of the Year.

Pop songstress Kana Nishino's "Darling" took the No. 1 spot, crowning her Artist of the Year ranking at No. 3 on both Twitter and karaoke results. The No. 2 spot went to Motohiro Hata's "Himawari No Yakusoku," ranking No. 7 on Twitter and No. 2 on karaoke results.

K-Pop phenomenon Toho Shinki's  "Time Works Wonders" bagged the No. 1 spot in Twitter results but ranked No. 4 overall. Similarly, Takako Matsu's "Let It Go," the Japanese version of Idina Menzel's "Let It Go," ranked No. 1 in karaoke but ranked No. 3 overall.


As an attempt to showcase the user interactivity which has affected music charts in recent years, this was Billboard Japan's first initiative to create a combined/aggregated chart which focused on this aspect. The real-time Twitter ranking during the voting period of the Song of the Year received much attention -- a total of 2.6 million tweets were submitted for voting. Billboard Japan's website's overall PV went up by 30 percent.


Below are the final results:
1. "Darling" - Kana Nishino
2. "Himawari No Yakusoku" - Motohiro Hata
3. "Let It Go" - Takako Matsu
4. "Time Works Wonders" - Toho Shinki
5. "Sweat" - Toho Shinki
6. "Koi No Fortune Cookie" - AKB48
7. "Suki" - Kana Nishino
8. "R.Y.U.S.E.I" - Sandaime J Soul Brothers from EXILE TRIBE
9. "We Don't Stop" - Kana Nishino
10. "Dare Mo Shiranai" - Arashi
12. "Nijiiro" - Ayaka
13. "Sayonara No Mae Ni" - AAA
14. "Dragon Night" - SEKAI NO OWARI
15. "ONE-for the win-" - NEWS
16. "Umarete Hajimete" - Sayaka Kanda, Takako Matsu
17. "GUTS!" - Arashi
18. "Kenka Joto" - Kishidan
19. "ray" - BUMP OF CHICKEN
20. "Let It Go" - May J.
Full results can be seen here.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.