Coldplay Finalizes New Album Track List

Coldplay has finalized the track list for its wildly anticipated third Parlophone album.

Coldplay has finalized the track list for its wildly anticipated third Parlophone album, "X&Y," due June 6 in its native United Kingdom and the following day in North America via Capitol. First single "Speed of Sound" will be released commercially on May 23 in the United Kingdom.

The biggest surprise to be found among the 12 confirmed tracks is "Talk," which leaked online earlier this year and was previously thought to have been relegated to a B-side. The cut derives its melody directly from Kraftwerk's "Computer Love," with the main riff played on guitar as opposed to the synthesizers that marked the original.

Several other songs have been played live in some form in recent months, including five at a March 12 show in Los Angeles sponsored by area radio station KCRW. "Square One" is a brooding opener with shades of the mega-hit "Clocks," "What If" is a piano ballad and "Speed of Sound" appeared to be musically the most overtly Coldplay-ish of the bunch.

"X&Y" is the follow-up to 2002's "A Rush of Blood to the Head," which has sold more than 3.69 million copies in the United States, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Coldplay will return to the States for an April 29 warm-up at the Joint in Las Vegas, and a headlining slot the following night at California's Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival. A European tour begins June 15 in Hamburg.

Here is the track list for "X&Y":

"Square One"
"What If"
"White Shadows"
"Fix You"
"Speed of Sound"
"A Message"
"The Hardest Part"
"Swallowed in the Sea"
"Twisted Logic"

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.