Wu-Tang Clan Shares O.D.B.-Sampling New Track, 'Ruckus in B Minor'

Wu-Tang Clan, 2014.
Courtesy of Warner Bros

Wu-Tang Clan with Cameron Strang

It's hard knowing how to feel about the first new Wu-Tang Clan album in seven years. The couple bits we've heard so far -- "Keep Watch," lead single "Ron O'Neal" and the big Daily Show performance -- have been promising.

"Ruckus in B Minor," though? The opening cut from A Better Tomorrow? It's a lot more than just "promising." For example: the very first words on the song, and the album, come from the immortal Ol' Dirty Bastard. From there, you've got most of the crew jumping in for confident, tight verses set to a cinematic, expensive-sounding beat. Plus, RZA walks into his own verse and immediately puts the past few years of drama between himself and Raekwon to rest: "GZA, this is called 'Ruckus in B Minor' / Rae, all those bad times is behind us."

[via Stereogum]

The track list for A Better Tomorrow, due Dec. 2 on Warner Bros. Records, has also arrived, thanks to the iTunes preorder

1. “Ruckus In B Minor”
2. “Felt”
3. “40th Street Black / We Will Fight”
4. “Mistaken Identity”
5. “Hold The Heater”
6. “Crushed Egos”
7. “Keep Watch”
8. “Miracle”
9. “Preacher’s Daughter”
10. “Pioneer The Frontier”
11. “Necklace”
12. “Ron O’Neal”
13. “A Better Tomorrow”
14. “Never Let Go”
15. “Wu-Tang Reunion”

"It's a record to me that merges the way music was made in the classic essence, in an analog way," RZA recently told Billboard about A Better Tomorrow. "As well as merging what's going down the digital way. All the entire 10 Clan members are on it. All the [living] members, which is a beautiful thing."


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.