Billboard Bits: The Coral, Rob Thomas, Shelby Lynne

News on The Coral, Rob Thomas, Shelby Lynne

CoralU.K. rock act the Coral will release its fourth album, "The Invisible Invasion," Aug. 30 in North America via Deltasonic/Columbia. The set was produced by Portishead's Adrian Utley and Geoff Barrow and will arrive May 23 internationally. First single "In the Morning" hit retail stores earlier this week.

"This record is all the best bits of all our previous albums rolled into one," says guitarist/vocalist James Skelly. "We also wanted an album we could play live in comparison to the last one. It's a lot warmer sounding. We wanted the first few records to sound the way they did, with more treble, but this time we wanted to explore something new."

The Coral will preview the new material on a six-date North American tour next month, which will hit Toronto (June 7), New York (June 9), Chicago (June 11), Los Angeles (June 14), San Francisco (June 15) and Seattle (June 17).

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

RobBeginning Sunday (May 15) and running through the finals, the Rob Thomas' "This Is How a Heart Breaks" will be the anthem for ABC's National Basketball Association (NBA) coverage. The video that opens each telecast will include live footage of the matchbox twenty frontman-gone-solo interspersed with an NBA video montage. The song will be heard up to 14 times through the remainder of the season.

"This Is How a Heart Breaks" is the opening song on Thomas' recently issued solo debut, " ... Something to Be" (Melisma/Atlantic Records), which debuted earlier this month at No. 1 on The Billboard 200. According to Nielsen SoundScan, the disc has sold 522,686 copies in the United States. A label spokesperson confirms "This Is How a Heart Breaks" is scheduled to be a future single.

-- Michael Paoletta, N.Y.

LynneTied into the May 24 release of Shelby Lynne's new Capitol album, DirecTV's "Freeview" series will offer a recent hour-long concert performance throughout the month of June. Shot in front of a studio audience in Hollywood, "Suit Yourself Live" finds the artist backed by the Wallflowers' Michael Ward (guitar), the Heartbreakers' Benmont Tench (keyboards), Bryan Owings (drums/percussion) and Brian "Brain" Harrison (bass), performing 13 tracks, eight of which appear on "
Suit Yourself."

The "Freeview" special will premiere June 3 and will be available on weekends through the end of the month. A 15-minute film about the making of the album follows the concert. In addition to that clip, four tracks from the album can be sampled on Lynne's official Web site.

-- Barry A. Jeckell, N.Y.