Sleater-Kinney Announces First Album in 10 Years, North American Reunion Tour

Slater Kinney, 2014
Brigitte Sire

It's official: the Sleater-Kinney reunion we started daring to hope for on Friday is really, seriously happening. The announcement is paired with the October 21 box set Start Together and the brand new song that arrived over the weekend, "Bury Our Friends." The 10-track album, No Cities to Love, will arrive January 20, 2015 on Sub Pop Records.

A 13-date North American tour will kick off in February in Spokane, Wash., followed by eight shows in Europe. Before we get into any more exciting details, check out the weirdo lyric video for "Bury Our Friends," featuring director/author Miranda July in a mask that might work well in a horror movie:

No Cities to Love will hit exactly four years after Carrie Brownstein started cultivating her crossover fame alongside Fred Armisen on IFC's Portlandia, which has its fifth season coming next year. The album was recorded in early 2014, with former S-K producer John Goodmanson at the helm. "We sound possessed on these songs, willing it all -- the entire weight of the band and what it means to us -- back into existence," Brownstein says in a press release.

Pre-order No Cities to Love here, peep the tracklist below, and start crossing your fingers for a musical appearance on Saturday Night Live, created and run by Portlandia producer Lorne Michaels. Hey, maybe Carrie Brownstein can even do double-duty as host and musical guest?

No Cities to Love
1. Price Tag
2. Fangless
3. Surface Envy
4. No Cities to Love
5. A New Wave
6. No Anthems
7. Gimme Love
8. Bury Our Friends
9. Hey Darling
10. Fade


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.