Aphex Twin Reveals New Album 'Syro' Via Underground Internet

Aphex Twin's "SYRO" track listing 2014

Aphex Twin released the "SYRO" track list on a webpage only accessible through the Vidalia browser when connected to the Tor network.

So that's what that blimp was about.

Two days after flying an enigmatic blimp over London, Aphex Twin revealed he's releasing his first new album in 13 years, entitled Syro.

Richard D. James made the announcement via Tor, a sort of underground Internet that protects users' anonymity. The deep web is a fitting place for James -- who has barely performed or spoken to the media for the better part of the 21st century -- to make news of a new Aphex record public. (James did, however, tell a Spanish newspaper that he was sitting on "10 or 11" albums back in 2011, so the existence of new Aphex Twin music isn't a shock.)

Aphex Twin's 46k Record, Minecraft & a Benevolent Internet Community

The Syro revelation comes with a 12-song track list (above). Each song has a corresponding number, which Death and Taxes speculates is in reference to BPMs.

Aside from Aphex Twin's vinyl-only Analord series in 2005 -- which compiled previously unreleased Twin material -- a shelved Aphex Twin album, 1994's Caustic Window, recently reached fans via Kickstarter campaign. A rare vinyl copy of Caustic Window was snapped up by Minecraft creator Markus Persson for a whopping $46,300 on eBay.

Syro will presumably be available at a more reasonable price.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.