Soundtrack to 'Finding Fela' Documentary Set for July 29 Release

On July 29, Knitting Factory Records will release the soundtrack to Finding Fela, Alex Gibney’s documentary on Afrobeat pioneer Fela Kuti.

Finding Fela tells the story of Fela Kuti's life as well as the evolution of the Broadway musical Fela!. The film premiered at Sundance, played Bonnaroo and will begin its theatrical run Aug. 1 at the IFC Center in New York. Kino Lorber is handling distribution.

Sundance Kicks Off With 'Finding Fela' and the Fela Band

The film documents Kuti's creation of Afrobeat in the late 1960s and covers his fight against the Nigerian government of the 1970s and '80s.

Listen to the soundtrack streaming on SoundCloud.

After New York, the film will play for a week in Denver, Washington, D.C., Martha's Vineyard and Santa Fe, N.M. “Finding Fela” runs Aug. 8-15 in the California cities of Berkeley, Los Angeles, San Diego and San Francisco as well as Atlanta, Boston, Philadelphia and Nashville.

'Fela!' Band Bringing Afrobeat to Sundance

From Aug. 22 to 28 it will play Minneapolis, Albuquerque, N.M., and Columbus, Ohio. It is also booked in Oklahoma City, Houston, Seattle, Montreal and Memphis.

Here's the complete tracklist:

1. Jeun Ko Ku (Chop 'n Quench)

2. Opposite People (edit)

3. Highlife Time

4. Lover

5. Viva Nigeria

6. Upside Down (edit)

7. Egbe Mi O (Carry Me I Want To Die)

8. Johnny Just Drop (edit)

9. VIP (Part 2 Live In Berlin)

10. Teacher Don't Teach Me Nonsense (edit)

11. Go Slow (edit)

12. Zombie

13. Power Show (edit)

14. Beasts of No Nation (edit)

15. Shuffering and Shmiling (edit)

16. Colonial Mentality


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.