Vance Joy Releases ‘Mess Is Mine’ Video Ahead of Debut Album: Watch

Vance Joy’s awaited debut album now has a name, a lead single, and a release date. 

The Australian singer-songwriter’s “Dream Your Life Away” will arrive Sept. 5 in his homeland, via Mushroom Group label Liberation Music. The album should also land this September in the U.S. and U.K./Europe, though international fans will have to wait a few days for confirmation of those release dates. 

Recorded in the U.S. with producer Ryan Hadlock (Foo Fighters, Gossip, The Lumineers), the 13-track set carries the award-winning hit “Riptide,” which currently sits at No. 92 on the Billboard Hot 100 (through Atlantic), along with the lead single “Mess Is Mine.” Watch the clip for “Mess Is Mine” below.  

The Melbourne-born artist (his real name James Keogh) has fast become one of Australia’s brightest young talents. “Riptide” has had a lot to do with his ascent. The upbeat, ukulele-driven tune took top spot on Australian radio network Triple J’s Hottest 100 poll earlier this year just hours before cracking the top 10 in Britain, where it is certified silver. “Riptide” won the coveted song of the year and pop work of the categories at last month’s APRA Awards.

The track has passed 1 million global sales and its being streamed at a rate upwards of three million times worldwide each week, according to Liberation. On Spotify alone, the song has been streamed more than 50 million times.

Vance Joy Makes Progress on Debut Album, Cracks U.K. Top 40

“Riptide” is closing in on five-times platinum in Australia, it’s certified platinum in Sweden; and gold in Austria, Canada, Germany, Ireland and New Zealand.

Last year, Joy signed a recording deal with Atlantic covering all territories with the exception of Australia and New Zealand. At the time of signing, Atlantic Records A&R Stefan Max had this to say, “From the moment Craig Kallman and I heard the first demos, we knew this was something truly special. It's not very often you find an artist whose every song moves you in some way.”

“Dream Your Life Away” Tracklisting

1. "Winds of Change"
2.  "Mess Is Mine"
3.  "Wasted Time"
4.  "Riptide"
5.  "Who Am I"
6.  "From Afar"
7.  "We All Die Trying To Get It Right"
8.  "Georgia"
9.  "Red Eye"
10. "First Time"
11. "All I Ever Wanted"
12. "Best That I Can"
13. "My Kind of Man"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.