Sublime With Rome Frontman to Release Debut Album in August (Exclusive)

Lindsey Byrnes
Rome Ramirez from Sublime With Rome

Rome, the frontman to Sublime with Rome, has announced details on his debut solo album, "Get Free", out Aug. 12 on Fueled By Ramen. 

The record's first single, "If The World", is out now.

Rome recorded "Get Free" in El Paso, TX, under the guidance of producer/songwriter Dave Bassett (Shinedown, Halestorm), and played nearly every instrument on the 10-track album. The exceptions come from drummers Michael McDermott of Bouncing Souls and Rome's Sublime with Rome bandmate Josh Freese, as well as a featured appearance by Butthole Surfers' guitarist Paul Leary on the album's title track. 

"Creating 'Get Free' was a liberating experience that showcases everything I have learned and experienced to this point," Rome told Billboard. "It was a wicked roller coaster that was written and recorded in the desert of El Paso, Texas, with the Mexican Cartel right beneath our feet. I couldn't be any more anxious to release this to the world."

The new song "If The World" follows tracks "Scream", "Eighteen" and "Terrorista" off the LP that were each released with accompanying videos earlier this year. 

Rome broke onto the scene after meeting Sublime co-founder/bassist Eric Wilson in 2009. In 2011 Sublime with Rome released “Yours Truly”, the band’s first full length album in over a decade. Rome's first solo release followed in 2012 with the "Dedication" EP, which included co-writing credits by Nate Ruess of fun. and Jeff Bhasker (fun., Kanye West, Jay-Z), Benny Blanco (Maroon 5, Ke$ha, Wiz Khalifa), Robopop (Gym Class Heroes, Lana Del Rey), The Futuristics (The Lonely Island Feat. Justin Timberlake & Lady Gaga), and Bassett as well. Since then, Rome has toured consistently with Sublime with Rome and written songs for Enrique Iglesias, Jennifer Lopez, Pitbull, Robin Thicke and others. 

"Get Free" Track List:

1. I’m Not Your Answer
2. Terrorista
3. Scream
4. Eighteen
5. If The World
6. Doin’ Time For You
7. Where’s Paradise
8. Crash The Party
9. Get Free - feat. Paul Leary
10. Ghost


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.