Interpol Announces New Album 'El Pintor'

Eliot Lee Hazel

Interpol's first album in four years is on its way. The veteran post-punk group announced on Thursday they'll release fifth studio effort "El Pintor" (The Painter) Sept. 9 on Matador.


Currently a trio, Interpol wrote and produced the ten tracks on "El Pintor," which was recorded at Electric Lady Studios and Atomic Sound in their native New York City. Along with providing vocals and guitar, frontman Paul Banks plays bass on the album, with Samuel Fogarino on drums and Daniel Kesler on guitar and piano. Guest musicians include Brandon Curtis of The Secret Machines and Roger Joseph Manning, Jr. of Beck's band.

A major force in the early 2000s NYC rock scene -- their debut "Turn on the Bright Lights" topped many a best-of list in 2002 -- Interpol hasn't released new music since their 2010 self-titled album, which debuted at No. 7 on the Billboard 200. Longtime bassist Carlos D left the group shortly after recording the album, their fourth studio effort.

Interpol is currently on tour and will be playing Governors Ball in NYC this weekend, followed by stops at Lollapalooza, FYF Fest, ACL Festival and Glastonbury. 

"El Pintor" Tracklist:

1. All the Rage Back Home
2. My Desire
3. Anywhere
4. Same Town, New Story
5. My Blue Supreme
6. Everything is Wrong
7. Breaker 1
8. Ancient Ways
9. Tidal Wave
10. Twice as Hard


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.