DJ E-Z Rock, The Sugarhill Gang & More to Be Honored at Hip Hop Hall of Fame 2014

The Hip Hop Hall of Fame will honor a handful of legends at its awards show on Monday, May 19.

The honorees to be inducted this year include The Sugar Hill Gang, Charles Ahearn and the film, "Wildstyle," Mr. Magic, Busy Bee, Spoonie G & The Treacherous Three, Sequence, Cornbread, Mercedes Ladies, DJ Hollywood, The Twins, Stay High 149, and Ernie Paniccioli.

Video Music Box creator and pioneer Ralph McDaniels will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. The late DJ E-Z Rock will be memorialized during the ceremony and with an all-star performance.

DJ E-Z Rock, Hip Hop Pioneer Who Recorded 'It Takes Two,' Dies At 46

DJ E-Z Rock, born Rodney Bryce, died at 46 on April 27. DJ E-Z Rock and Rob Base's "It Takes Two" peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard Hot Dance/Club Songs chart in 1988 and helped ts parent album (also called "It Takes Two") to hit platinum.

Ladies First: 31 Female Rappers Who Changed Hip Hop

Talib Kweli, Brand Nubian, Slick Rick, MC Busy Bee, Nine and Rakim will perform Monday night.

"The artists, groups, deejays, b-boys/girls, graffiti artists and entrepreneurs being inducted have all made significant contributions to the birth, establishment, and advancement of the hip hop culture," says JT Thompson, Hip Hop Hall of Fame founder. "This Awards show is going to be memorable and will go down in music history."

The award show will be hosted be legendary female rapper0 Roxanne Shanté and DJ Mell Star. It will take place at Stage 48 in midtown Manhattan.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.