Neil Young Quietly Releases Covers Album for Online Sale

Honoree Neil Young attends the 56th GRAMMY Awards P&E Wing Event Honoring Neil Young at The Village Recording Studios on January 21, 2014 in Los Angeles, California.
Michael Kovac, WireImage

Honoree Neil Young attends the 56th GRAMMY Awards P&E Wing Event at The Village Recording Studios on Jan. 21, 2014 in Los Angeles.

Neil Young’s new covers album “A Letter Home” was quietly released for sale Friday without formal announcement.

The album is out via Jack White’s Third Man Records online shop on 12-inch vinyl a day before Record Store Day. It will be sold through physical retailers for Saturday’s shopping holiday. At the Third Man Records web store, the album is selling for $20 plus shipping. 

Neil Young Covers Dylan, Hardin at Hollywood's Dolby Theater: Live Review

The album track list includes covers of classics by Bob Dylan, Willie Nelson, Gordon Lightfoot, Bruce Springsteen, the Everly Brothers and others. Many of these songs have been a part of Young's live set over the past few months. On his website, Young describes the collect as “rediscovered songs from the past recorded on ancient electro mechanical technology captures and unleashes the essence of something that could have been gone forever.” 

Neil Young's Agenda: Jack White Project, Second Book, 'Full-Blown Orchestra' Album

“A Letter Home” was recorded recorded in the “Third Man Recording Booth”, a refurbished 1947 Voice-o-Graph machine. Below, watch a video about the recording booth featuring The Raconteurs‘ Brendan Benson.


“A Letter Home” track listing: 

1. "Changes" (Phil Ochs)

2. "Girl From The North Country" (Bob Dylan)

3. "Needle of Death" (Bert Jansch)

4. "Early Morning Rain" (Gordon Lightfoot)

5. "Reason To Believe" (Tim Hardin)

6. "On The Road Again" (Willie Nelson)

7. "If You Could Only Read My Mind" (Gordon Lightfoot)

8. "Since I Met You Baby" (Ivory Joe Hunter)

9. "My Hometown" (Bruce Springsteen)

10. "I Wonder If I Care As Much" (Everly Brothers)



The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.