Pharrell Joining 'The Voice' as a Coach

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

Pharrell Williams performs onstage during the Oscars at the Dolby Theatre on March 2, 2014 in Hollywood, California.

Pharrell Williams is joining "The Voice." The NBC singing show made the announcement on Monday via Twitter.

Williams will rotate in for season 7, following Cee Lo Green's exit. "I'm not coming back, guys," he told Ellen DeGeneres in an interview last month. "I don't want to wear out my welcome there … I have so many other things that I want to do. I haven't released an album in four years."

“It's been a huge year for Pharrell, with recognition for his contribution in the world of music — the Despicable Me franchise soundtracks, his Oscar-nominated song ‘Happy' and his Grammy-winning collaboration with Daft Punk on the breakout dance hit ‘Get Lucky.' His dominance in record sales in 2014, coupled with his incomparable accomplishments in the world of fashion and design, make him an irresistible addition to The Voice family,” said Paul Telegdy, president, alternative and late night programming, NBC Entertainment. “He has already made a considerable impact as a mentor, drawing on an impressive track record as both a producer and performer. It is a perfect fit forThe Voice as we evolve and reach for new heights with this franchise. It feels like we are welcoming an existing family member home."

Williams previously served as a guest mentor to Usher and his team during season four.

Said executive producer Mark Burnett: "I am thrilled to have Pharrell come back to The Voice family, and this time … as a coach. Continuing in The Voice tradition of having the biggest and most current music stars as coaches, Pharrell fits perfectly."

NBC noted in the announcement that the rest of the coach line-up will be confirmed at a later date.

"The Voice" is presented by Burnett's One Three Inc., Talpa Media USA Inc. and Warner Horizon Television. The series was created by John de Mol, who serves as executive producer along with Burnett, Audrey Morrissey, Stijn Bakkers and Lee Metzger.