Billboard Bits: Black Sabbath, Garcia, Brookville

News on Black Sabbath, Jerry Garcia, Brookville

Warner Bros./Rhino will celebrate Black Sabbath's induction into the Rock and Hall of Fame with "Greatest Hits 1970-1978," due March 14, the day after the ceremony. The 16-track set is drawn exclusively from the eight studio albums recorded by the original lineup of vocalist Ozzy Osbourne, guitarist Tony Iommi, bassist Geezer Butler and drummer Bill Ward.

The chronological collection begins with early cuts like "Black Sabbath" and "N.I.B.," proceeds to mid-period classics like "War Pigs," "Paranoid," "Iron Man" and "Sweet Leaf" and wraps with the title cut of 1978's "Never Say Die" and "Dirty Women" from 1976's "Technical Ecstasy."

Here is the track list for "Greatest Hits 1970-1978":

"Black Sabbath"
"The Wizard"
"War Pigs"
"Iron Man"
"Sweet Leaf"
"Children of the Grave"
"Sabbath Bloody Sabbath"
"Hole in the Sky"
"Rock 'N' Roll Doctor"
"Never Say Die"
"Dirty Women"

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

Following a foray into wine, the estate of Jerry Garcia has licensed the late Grateful Dead guitarist's name to a limited edition line of tea. Five blends of J. Garcia Artisan Teas will be available beginning March 1 from premium tea company the
Republic of Tea.

Like the wines marketed by Clos du Bois, each J. Garcia Artisan Teas package will feature original artwork by the artist from a collection of more than 500 pieces created before his death in 1995. A portion of the proceeds from the teas will be donated to Draw Bridge, a non-profit organization that provides art programs for children in homeless shelters.

The first set of teas is made up of Morning Brew (black tea), Jerry Cherry (black tea, essence of Bing cherries and vanilla), Shady Grown (blend of Brazilian Yerba Mate and South African Rooibos with cinnamon and vanilla), Magic Herb Blend (caffeine-free, orange and peppermint) and Spirit of Sage (green tea with sage).

-- Barry A. Jeckell, N.Y.

Ivy's Andy Chase will release his second album via his Brookville solo project, "Life in the Shade," June 13 via his own Unfiltered Records label. The disc sports guest appearances by Ivy principal Adam Schlesinger and former Smashing Pumpkins guitarist James Iha, Chase's partners in New York's Stratosphere Sound studio.

Other contributors to "Life in the Shade" include French sound editor Cyril Moisson, Fountains Of Wayne guitarist Jody Porter, multi-instrumentalist Eric Matthews and the Brazilian Girls' Didi Gutman and Sabina Sciubba. String arrangements were provided by Hem's Greg Pliska.

With Ivy taking a break while Schlesinger moves forward on the
next Fountains Of Wayne album, Chase is hoping to tour with Brookville later this year.

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.