Pixies Announce First New Album Since 1991

Michael Halsband
The Pixies

"Indie Cindy" compiles two previously released EPs, plus a third just-announced set

The Pixies will release their first full-length album since 1991's "Trompe Le Monde," though its 12 tracks will be familiar to those who have been following the band's relaunch over the past year.

The new album is called "Indie Cindy" (named for the shout-along track from last September's "EP1") and features all songs from the band's trio of recent four-song EPs, the last of which (titled "EP3") was just announced today. The songs have all been shuffled into a new, non-chronological track listing (posted below).

"Indie Cindy" goes on sale April 23 via the Pixies' own label, Pixiesmusic, with distribution through PIAS Recordings. Fans can purchase "EP3" now; pre-orders are up for a double-vinyl gatefold LP of "Indie Cindy," as well as a deluxe double-CD book of the album, which features 13 live tracks recorded all over the world on the Pixies' past tour. 

Watch the video for "Bagboy," featured on "EP3":

The new album comes out April 23 in Japan and April 28 in Europe and other parts of the world.

All the new songs were produced by Gil Norton ("Doolittle," "Bossanova") and recorded at Rockfield Studios in Wales during Oct. 2012.

"I think we've pulled together a record that is as close to the Pixies as we can get it," leader Black Francis told Billboard for a magazine story late last year.

Pixies Surprise With New EP, Video: Watch

Said guitarist Joey Santiago, also to Billboard: "It won't sound like 'Doolittle' ever. We can't even try. We've always in a conscious effort not to sound like the previous record. There's some bands out there that sound like they've been working on their debut record for a long time. By the third album it's like move on!"

The Pixies are on tour for much of the first half of 2014, with dates in Australia, South America, Europe and Japan. They return to America on Sept. 28 for a show at Los Angeles' Hollywood Bowl.

The Pixies are still touring with new bassist Paz Lenchantin, who replaced Kim Shattuck (let go by the band in Nov. 2013), who had replaced original bassist Kim Deal.

This media is not available on this platform.

Here is the track listing for "Indie Cindy":

1. What Goes Boom
2. Greens and Blues
3. Indie Cindy
4. Bagboy
5. Magdalena 318
6. Silver Snail
7. Blue Eyed Hexe
8. Ring the Bell
9. Another Tow in the Ocean
10. Andro Queen
11. Snakes
12. Jamie Bravo