Coldplay Announces Release Date for 'Ghost Stories,' Drops New Single 'Magic': Listen

Phil Harvey

Coldplay has quietly unveiled “Magic,” the first single from their anticipated new album "Ghost Stories."

The album, the British band’s sixth, will arrive May 19 via Parlophone/Atlantic Records. Fans who pre-order "Ghost Stories" will receive an instant download of the new single, which can be streamed at

News of Coldplay’s new album release comes a week after the outfit dropped the atmospheric track "Midnight" -- and its trippy clip. 

"Magic," like "Midnight," is a more introspective production which veers well away from the radio-geared, stadium-rock works which helped make Coldplay a household name. 

"Ghost Stories" is the Chris Martin-fronted group’s first album since 2011's "Mylo Xyloto." In August of last year, the band released "Atlas" from the soundtrack of "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire."

A deluxe edition of the "Ghost Stories" CD, featuring three bonus tracks, is available exclusively from Target at

Coldplay will support the album with a headline slot on the opening night of the inaugural US iTunes Festival at SXSW on March 11. The performance will be streamed live and on-demand worldwide for free via the iTunes Store. 

Track-Listing for "Ghost Stories":

1. Always In My Head
2. Magic
3. Ink
4. True Love
5. Midnight
6. Another's Arms
7. Oceans
8. A Sky Full Of Stars
9. O