Billboard Bits: JAS Fest, 'Imaginational Anthem,' Sub Pop

News on JAS Fest, 'Imaginational Anthem,' Sub Pop

Trey Anastasio, Elvis Costello and the Imposters and Diana Krall lead the lineup for the 2006 Jazz Aspen Snowmass festival, to be held June 22-25 in Aspen's Rio Grande Park. The event will kick off June 22 with shows by Jamie Cullum and Lizz Wright, followed the night next by a performance from Krall.

Costello and the Imposters will be joined by Allen Toussaint for their June 24 set, an evening which will also boast a performance by Delbert McClinton. Sets by Anastasio and Maceo Parker will close the festival on June 25.

Tickets are available via the event's Web site. Jazz Aspen Snowmass will also stage a Labor Day festival at Snowmass Town Park from Sept. 1-4, with a lineup to be announced.

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

Tompkins Square has set a June 6 release for the second volume of its "Imaginational Anthem" series, featuring rare and under-recognized tracks from solo guitarists. The 12-track set features the first officially released live recording from the late Robbie Basho plus tracks by Jose Gonzalez, Fred Gerlach, Peter Lang and Billy Faier.

In addition, the first Imaginational Anthem tour will begin June 3 in Brooklyn, N.Y., and feature performances by Sharron Kraus and James Blackshaw, with Jesse Sparhawk on East Coast dates and Sean Smith on West Coast shows. Also on June 6, Tompkins Square will reissue Harry Taussig's privately pressed 1965 album "Fate Is Only Once" on CD for the first time.

Here is the track list for "Imaginational Anthem Vol. 2":

"River of Heaven," James Blackshaw
"Future Shot at the Rainbow," Peter Lang
"Suggestions," Jose Gonzalez
"Light Cycle/Tetrahedra," Jesse Sparhawk
"Leaving the Apple," Michael Chapman
"What Blooms in Summer Dies in Winter," Sean Smith
"Devil's Brew," Fred Gerlach
"Ascend Mem," Christina Carter
"Cross the North Fork II," Jack Rose
"New World Coming," Billy Faier
"Looking for the Hermit's Cave," Sharron Kraus
"Kowaka D'Amour," Robbie Basho

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

Videos from the Shins, Mudhoney, Hot Hot Heat, the Constantines and the Postal Service will be found on the DVD “Acquired Taste,” due May 9 via Sub Pop. The full track list has yet to be announced, but the DVD is tipped to include the Shins’ “New Slang,” Hot Hot Heat’s “No Not Now,” and Mudhoney’s brand new “It Is Us,” plus clips from Rogue Wave, Wolf Parade, Low, the Elected, Iron & Wine and Ugly Casanova, among others.

Among its 25 clips, “Acquired Taste” will also feature two videos animated by Sub Pop artist Chad Van Gaalen: his own “Clinically Dead” and Love As Laughter’s “Dirty Lives.”

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.