Billboard Bits: 'Nuestro Himno,' Cracker, Marty Stuart

News on 'Nuestro Himno,' Cracker, Marty Stuart

Olga Tañón, Gloria Trevi and Wyclef Jean are among the artists adding their voices to "Nuestro Himno" (Our Anthem), a Spanish-language recording of "The Star-Spangled Banner." Produced by Eduardo Reyes, the track is due to be completed later this week and will appear on "Somos Americanos" (We Are Americans), a collection songs about the Latino experience in the United States.

Due May 16 via Urban Box Office, a portion of the project's proceeds will benefit pro-immigration organizations including the National Capital Immigration Coalition. The Washington, D.C.-based group has been active in organizing protests ongoing immigration debate in the halls of the U.S. Congress and has committed to use "Nuestro Himno" at its upcoming events.

Other artists whose participation in the new recording of the anthem has been confirmed are Aventura & Andy, Ivy Queen, Reik, Kalimba, Voz a Voz, Tito El Bambino, Frank Reyes, NíKlabe, Tony Sunshine, P-Star of Reggaeton Niños and Yemaya. Many others have been invited to take part in UBO-organized recording sessions this week in New York, Miami, Los Angeles, Puerto Rico, Mexico City and Madrid.

-- Barry A. Jeckell, N.Y.

Cracker will release its seventh studio album, "Greenland," June 6 via Cooking Vinyl. The set was primarily produced by frontman David Lowery and John Morand, with the help of Sparklehorse's Mark Linkous and Alan Weatherhead. The 13-track effort features the guest talents of Linkous as well as David Immergluck of the Counting Crows.

Lowery and co-founder/writer John Hickman will be playing a trio of dates in Colorado and Mexico in the coming days, with Cracker picking up all together on July 9 in Tulsa, Okla. and continuing through September. "Greenland" is the band's first release since 2003's "Countrysides," a collection of country-folk covers.

Here is the tracklist for "Greenland":

"Something You Aint' Got"
"Where Have These Days Gone"
"Fluffy Lucy"
"The Riverside"
"Gimme One More Chance"
"I'm So Glad She Ain't Never Coming Back"
"Sidi Ifni"
"I Need Better Friends"
"Better Times Are Coming Our Way"
"Everybody Gets One for Free"
"Darling We're Out of Time"

-- Katie Hasty, N.Y.

Marty Stuart will host his fifth annual Late Night Jam June 7 at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium. In addition to Stuart and his Fabulous Superlatives, the event will feature the participation of Connie Smith, Travis Tritt, the Fairfield Four, Kathy Mattea, Jim Brock, Don Chambers and the Legendary Shack Shakers, among others.

Tickets priced at $29.50 and $39.50 are on sale through the Ryman Auditorium
box office. Proceeds will benefit the Recording Academy's MusiCares, which provides assistance to music industry personnel in times of need. To date, the Marty Stuart Late Night Jam has raised a $50,000 for the organization.

-- Barry A. Jeckell, N.Y.