Billboard Bits: Luther Vandross, America, Iron Maiden

News on Luther Vandross, America, Iron Maiden

The compilation set "The Ultimate Luther Vandross," a joint effort by J, Epic and Legacy Records, will offer two previously unreleased songs by the late artist amid some of his most defining tracks. Due Aug. 22, the 18-track set features hits such as "A House Is Not a Home," "Never Too Much" and "Take You Out."

The unreleased tracks are lead single "Shine," produced by Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, and "Got You Home." The compilation also lifts several cuts from Vandross' last studio album, 2003's "Dance With My Father" (J), including the title track and a duet with Beyonce. That disc bowed atop The Billboard 200 and has sold 2.5 million copies in the United States, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Vandross died in July 2005, two years after he suffered a stroke.

-- Clover Hope, N.Y.

A number of indie rock artists have jumped aboard America's upcoming album, "Here & Now," due Oct. 17 via Burgundy Records.
As previously reported, the set will be produced by and feature contributions from Adam Schlesinger and James Iha. New to the roster is Ryan Adams, who also teamed with Schlesinger and Iha to play "A Horse With No Name" with America last week at New York's B.B. King's Blues Club.

Meanwhile, My Morning Jacket's Jim James and Patrick Hallahan guest on a new version of their own "Golden," while Nada Surf's Ira Elliot and Matthew Caws assist on a cover of their "Always Love." Eliot also plays drums on the song "Indian Summer," penned by Mark Rozzo, his bandmate in Maplewood.

The second disc of "Here & Now" is culled from a live performance on XM Radio's "Then...Again...Live!" show and follows the same track list as the collection "History: America's Greatest Hits," which reached No. 3 on The Billboard 200 in 1975.

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

Iron Maiden will release its 19th studio album, "A Matter of Life and Death," Sept. 5 via Sanctuary Records. The follow-up to 2003's "Dance of Death" was produced by longtime collaborator Kevin Shirley. Maiden will support of the set with an international tour that begins Nov. 18 in Aalborg, Denmark.

Here is the track list for "A Matter of Life and Death":

"Different Worls"
"These Colours Don't Run"
"Brighter Than a Thousand Suns"
"The Pilgrim"
"The Longest Day"
"Out of the Shadows"
"The Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg"
"For the Greater Good of God"
"Lord of Light"
"The Legacy"

-- Katie Hasty, N.Y.