Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks Announce New Album, Share 'Lariat' Track: Listen

Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks will follow their 2011 album "Mirror Traffic" with "Wig Out at Jagbags," due out Jan. 7, 2014 on Matador. The group has also unleashed the jangle-pop track "Lariat" in the form of a French lyric video -- watch below:

The former Pavement frontman's sixth album with the Jicks was recorded in a farmhouse near Amsterdam and was self-produced, after Beck helmed "Mirror Traffic." "This album's going to be pared down to 40 minutes, and I could see even that length being a chore to listen to for this type of music," Malkmus told Pitchfork of the 12-song album earlier this month. "If you're going to make jammy music, it has to be background-y to an extreme degree, as if it's not trying to grab your attention. If I wanted to make something jammy now, I'd have to be totally zoned out into a haze, but for this album I made melodies that just get in your head a little more annoyingly, or pleasingly. It's not coffee-shop music, though. I hate that."

Malkmus and Pavement reunited in 2010, but the indie-rock group has not put out an album since 1999's "Terror Twilight." "Mirror Traffic" has sold 30,000 copies to date, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks have a handful of tour dates planned for the top of 2014, beginning with a show at Brudenell in Leeds on Jan. 13. Check out the "Wig Out at Jagbags" track list below:

1. Planetary Motion
2. The Janitor Revealed
3. Lariat
4. Houston Hades
5. Shibboleth
6. J Smoov
7. Rumble at the Rainbo
8. Chartjunk
9. Independence Street
10. Scattegories
11. Cinnamon and Lesbians
12. Surreal Teenagers