Exclusive: Keane Announces 'Strangeland' Album Details

Keane Nab Fifth Straight U.K. No. 1

British alt-rockers Keane have announced that its fourth album, "Strangeland," will be released on May 8 in the U.S. on Cherrytree/Interscope, and one day earlier in the U.K. The follow-up to 2008's "Perfect Symmetry" was produced by Dan Grech-Marguerat (The Vaccines, Howling Bells) and will be supported by a spring tour, with dates still pending.

Grech-Marguerat tells Billboard.com that his first collaboration with the group began last May, when he and the quartet (Tim Rice-Oxley, Tom Chaplin, Richard Hughes, and new bassist Jesse Quin) began scratching the surface on a few songs that recalled their breakout debut, 2004's "Hopes and Fears." "We talked a lot about the sound and ambition of the record beforehand… about going back to the songwriting of their first two albums," says the producer. "We wanted to make a record that sounded rich and simpler."

Meanwhile, Cherrytree Records Chairman Martin Kierszenbaum says that the label is considering releasing the soaring "Silenced By The Night" as the first single in the U.S., while another song, "Disconnected," will be serviced to the band's U.K. fans. "We're going to shoot videos for both," says Kierszenbaum, adding that the double-single strategy can work for "artists with a global fan base" like Keane.

"Strangeland" is available for pre-order at Amazon.com beginning today, and Kierszenbaum also mentions that the group will likely spend most of 2012 on the road following the album release. Keane toured behind "Perfect Symmetry," which has sold 144,000 copies in the U.S. according to Nielsen SoundScan, for most of 2009.

Here is the track list for Keane's "Strangeland":

1. You Are Young
2. Silenced By The Night
3. Disconnected
4. Watch How You Go
5. Sovereign Light Cafe
6. On The Road
7. The Starting Line
8. Black Rain
9. Neon River
10. Day Will Come
11. In Your Own Time
12. Sea Fog