Gossip Announces New Album: Hear First Single 'Perfect World'

Gossip Announces New Album: Hear First Single 'Perfect World'

In one fell swoop, progressive pop group Gossip have announced a new album, single, and still-in-the-works European tour: "A Joyful Noise," the band's fifth studio album, will be released May 22 through Columbia Records, while lead single "Perfect World" drops today (March 13) for download.

Gossip, "Perfect World"

The follow-up to 2009's "Music For Men" was recorded in England and Portland, Oregon with producer Brian Higgins (Kylie Minogue, Girls Aloud). "I spent the whole year listening to ABBA and not listening to the radio," admits frontwoman Beth Ditto in a press release.

Gossip's "Live From The Lot" performance at SXSW on Thursday (Mar. 15) will be live-streamed on YouTube, while the group will embark on a summer European tour following the release of "Noise," with dates yet to be announced. Since forming in 1999, the group has released four full-lengths, with its latest, "Music For Men," moving 42,000 copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Here is the full track list for "A Joyful Noise":

1. Melody Emergency
2. Perfect World
3. Get A Job
4. Move In The Right Direction
5. Casualties of War
6. Into The Wild
7. Get Lost
8. Involved
9. Horns
10. I Won't Play
11. Love In A Foreign Place