Sigur Ros to Roll Out New Album in May

Sigur Ros to Roll Out New Album in May

It looks like spring isn't the only thing in full bloom. Sigur Rós, the Icelandic band whose name means victory rose, is all set to release their sixth studio album "Valtari" on May 29th. "Valtari" marks the end of the group's "indefinite hiatus" that began in 2008 after the release of their acclaimed album "Með suð í eyrum við spilum endalaust."

With several other projects on the horizon, time seemed to slip away from the quartet in the years following their fifth album. Lead singer Jónsi recorded his first solo album "Go" while keyboardist Kjartan devoted himself to "Credo," an unreleased work. And who can forget "Inni," their CD/DVD collection of live London performances released last September?

Slowly but surely though, "Valtari," which translates to steamroller, started to come together. Produced by Jónsi and song mixer Alex Somers, the eclectic album features, eight ambient, albeit difficult to pronounce, tracks. Each song has its own unique sound. And while the album differs from Sigur Rós's previous work in that it's less formally structured, some of the songs emerged out of sessions dating all the way back to 2005.

Fans certainly won't want to miss this highly anticipated effort from Sigur Rós. The first single "Ekki Múkk," is now streaming on the band's website -

"Valtar" track listing:

1. Ég anda
2. Ekki múkk
3. Varúð
4. Rembihnútur
5. Dauðalogn
6. Varðeldur
7. Valtari
8. Fjögur píanó