Matchbox Twenty Heading 'North' For Long-Awaited Fourth Album

Matchbox Twenty Heading 'North' For Long-Awaited Fourth Album

For all of the hits that the Matchbox Twenty guys have accrued over the past 15 years, the pop-rock group has only released three official albums, with the last of that trio, "More Than You Think You Are," released nearly a decade ago. At long last, however, Rob Thomas and co. have returned with "North," their fourth studio disc set for a Sept. 4 release.

Thomas, Paul Doucette, Kyle Cook and Brian Yale worked on "North" in Nashville last summer before joining producer Matt Serletic in Calabasas, Calif. "We went into this record with a lot of material," says Doucette. "Many different songs that could have taken us in many different directions. It sort of overwhelmed us for a bit. But, at a certain point, we figured it out. We figured out where North was."

The album's first single, "She's So Mean," is set to hit radio in June. Other song titles include "Overjoyed," "Our Song" and "Put Your Hands Up."

Matchbox Twenty was all the rage in 1996: the group's debut album, "Yourself or Someone Like You," spawned country-tinged rock hits like "3 A.M.," "Push" and "The Real World" on its way to selling 8.2 million copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan. Follow-up albums "Mad Season" (2000) and "More Than You Think You Are" (2002) included the singles "If You're Gone," "Disease" and "Unwell."

After collaborating with Carlos Santana on the Grammy-winning smash "Smooth," Thomas paved his own solo career, releasing "…Something To Be" in 2005 and "Cradlesong" in 2009. In between, Matchbox Twenty issued "Exile on Mainstream," a collection of new songs like the single "How Far We've Come," greatest hits and live recordings, in 2007.