Robert Plant's Band of Joy Concert Gets July 10 DVD Release

Robert Plant's Band of Joy Concert Gets July 10 DVD Release

DVD and Blu Ray Will Include Three Led Zeppelin Songs Not Seen in Initial 'Live from the Artists Den' Broadcast

The concert Robert Plant and the Band of Joy filmed at Nashville's War Memorial Auditorium for the TV live series "Artist's Den" will be released on DVD and Blu Ray on July 10.

The DVD of "Robert Plant & the Band of Joy: Live from the Artists Den" includes performances of three Led Zeppelin classics - "Black Dog," "Houses of the Holy" and "Tangerine" -- that were not part of the initial broadcast on public television stations. Other songs included that did not make the initial cut are "In the Mood" from his solo disc "Principle of Moments" and the traditional "I Bid You Good Night" that the Grateful Dead often covered.

In the liner notes, Plant writes "Some years back I was propelled by chance, with little planning or expectation into an American way…with a lean and pull into a new direction…voices and harmony, restraint and explosion, tight and loose, great joy in great company… in a blizzard in Nashville."

Universal Music Group will release the 16-song concert in the U.S. and around the world through its international arm. The DVD features bonus interview clips as well.

"'Artists Den' separates itself from other show because it is done in an intimate way with superstars (performing) a mix of current and past music that is easy to connect with as a musical event," Universal Music Enterprises president Bruce Resnikoff told Billboard.

"Live from the Artists Den," which is filming its fifth season, features artists performing in non-traditional settings throughout North America. Other artists who have appeared on the show include Adele, Ben Harper and Elvis Costello with venues as varied as Graceland, the world's oldest merchant sailing vessel and the New York Public Library.

The DVD will also be presented as a featured story and product release for public television's National Pledge starting July 26. Artists Den Entertainment produces the show in association with WNET New York Public Media; American Public Television distributes it.

Plant created Band of Joy with guitarist Buddy Miller and singer Patty Griffin after his success with Alison Krauss on "Raising Sand," his 2007 release that led to five Grammy wins. Plant's "Band of Joy" album, the title is a reference to the group he formed with John Bonham prior to Led Zeppelin, peaked at No. 5 on the Billboard 200 in October 2010. It has sold 232,000 copies, according to Soundscan figures.

Track List: Robert Plant & the Band of Joy: Live from the Artists Den

1. Black Dog
2. Angel Dance
3. Houses of the Holy
4. House of Cards
5. Cindy, I'll Marry You Someday
6. Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down
7. Somewhere Trouble Don't Go
8. Tangerine
9. A Satisfied Mind
10. Move Up
11. Down to the Sea
12. Ramble On
13. Gallows Pole
14. In the Mood
15. Rock and Roll
16. I Bid You Goodnight