Bon Iver Releasing Second Album in June

Bon Iver to Appear in 2012 Fitness DVD

Bon Iver, the critically acclaimed rock outfit led by Justin Vernon, will release its slavishly anticipated second album on June 21 through Jagjaguwar. The project, titled "Bon Iver, Bon Iver," includes 10 new songs recorded at April Base Studios in Fall Creek, Wis.

While his 2008 debut, "For Emma, Forever Ago," was a largely solo affair, Vernon is flanked on "Bon Iver, Bon Iver" by a host of collaborators, including longtime friends Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan, pedal steel wiz Greg Leisz, horn players Colin Stetson, Mike Lewis and C.J. Camerieri and arranger Rob Moose.

Details are scant on the musical direction of "Bon Iver, Bon Iver," but a 50-second sample posted last week at features Vernon's signature falsetto vocals atop a ringing, repeated electric guitar riff and martial drumming. As of yet, no tour plans have announced in support of the new album.

Conceived and recorded in a cabin in the woods of Wisconsin, "For Emma, Forever Ago" was a slow-building commercial smash for Jagjaguwar, eventually becoming its best-selling release ever with U.S. sales of 321,000 copies in the United States, according to Nielsen SoundScan. A subsequent EP, "Blood Bank," debuted at No. 16 on The Billboard 200 and has sold 130,000 copies.

Since touring and promotion wound down for "For Emma," Vernon released "Related," the debut album by his soft rock-leaning side band, Gayngs. He has also become a regular collaborator with rap superstar Kanye West, appearing on several songs on his latest album, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy," and performing with him last weekend at the Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival in Indio, Calif.

Here is the track list for "Bon Iver, Bon Iver":


"Minnesota, WI"




"Hinnom, TX"



"Lisbon, OH"



The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.