Tim Robbins to Release First Album in July

Tim Robbins Talks Debut Album, 'Real Experience' of Live Shows

Actor Tim Robbins and the Rogues Gallery Band will release their first album July 19 on 429 Records and tour North America beginning July 8.

Robbins, who won a supporting actor Oscar for "Mystic River," has been active musician for decades, creating the music for his film "Bob Roberts" and contributing to the soundtracks of "Dead Man Walking," "Human Nature" and "Catch a Fire." He pays guitar and wrote the nine songs that appear on the album.

25 Movie Stars Turned Musicians

Hal Willner produced the album, connecting Robbins with keyboardist Roger Eno, musical saw player David Coulter and multi-instrumentalist Kate St. John, formerly of Dream Academy. Joan As Policewoman contributes vocals.

Robbins' father, Gilbert Robbins, was a member of the folk ensemble the Highwaymen and a manger of the New York folk music club the Gaslight.

Gil Robbins, Highwaymen Member and Folk Singer, Dies

Before recording his first album Robbins said in a statement, "I wanted to understand what my voice was and what kind of stories I wanted to tell. I think I'm ready to tell those stories now.

Robbins and his band open their tour July 8 and 9 at the Winnipeg Folk Festival and work their way west across Canada before shows in Seattle (July 18 at the Triple Door), Los Angeles (July 20 and 21 at Largo) and New York (July 26 at le Poisson Rouge). The tour concludes Aug. 6 at the Edmonton Folk Festival.

Here is the track list for "Tim Robbins and the Rogues Gallery Band":

"Book of Josie"

"You're My Dare"


"Time to Kill"

"Toledo Girl"

"Queen of Dreams"

"Crush on You"

"Moment in the Sun"

"Lightning Calls"