Britney Spears Reaches Special Kind of Fame: 10 Mill Twitter Followers

Britney Spears Reaches Special Kind of Fame: 10 Mill Twitter Followers

Britney Spears (@britneyspears) has reached rare social height: As of last week, she's one of six people on Twitter to reach 10 million followers.

She joins the company of Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 14,381,470 followers), Justin Bieber (@justinbieber,13,309,185 followers) President Barack Obama (@barackobama, 10,675,468 followers), Katy Perry (@katyperry, 10,481,994 followers) and Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian, 10,307,959 followers).

Britney Spears, Nearing 30, Looks to the Future


Of those selected six, Brit's timeline is the one most filled with fan feedback. Many of her 1,095 tweets are greetings and "thank yous" to fans for their support. She happens to follow more than 400,000 Twitter users herself.

The pop princess may have been the sixth to reach this milestone, but there are a few nipping at her heels. Shakira (@shakira) is believed to be the next to 10 million followers, currently at a little more than 9 million, with Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 8,415,223 followers) and Rihanna (@rihanna, 8,223,280 followers) trailing as well. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)'s numbers are also growing, now at around 7,654,843 followers.