Women in Music 2019

Exclusive: Chris Cornell 'Songbook' EP2 First Listen

Whoa, Slow Down! 10 Tempo-Halting Remakes

Chris Cornell has been tireless this year, but his spring solo tour and the Soundgarden arena tour weren't even half of the story. He's back out on the road now for another solo acoustic 'Songbook' tour and the Nov. 21 release of a "Songbook" album, which you can hear part of here first exclusively on Billboard.com.

"Songbook" is being released in three parts beginning with "Songbook EP 1" out Nov. 1, and "Songbook EP 2" following tomorrow (Nov. 15). Listen to "Songbook EP 2" Here FIRST:

"Songbook" Full Track Listing:
1. As Hope and Promise Fade
2. Scar On The Sky
3. Call Me A Dog
4. Ground Zero
5. Can't Change Me
6. I Am The Highway
7. Thank You (Led Zeppelin)
8. Cleaning My Gun
9. Wide Awake
10. Fell On Black Days
11. All Night Thing
12. Doesn't Remind Me
13. Like A Stone
14. Black Hole Sun
15. Imagine (John Lennon)
16. The Keeper

Listen To Our Stream of Cornell's "Songbook EP 1" Here

"It blows me away that there's this willingness by an audience -- continually, night after night, just all over the country and even in different parts of the world -- to sit and listen to a guy singing a song and playing acoustic guitar quietly, and not making a sound," Cornell recently told Billboard.com of the engaged crowds his solo shows attract. The crowds make up the backdrop of the 15 live tracks--- Soundgarden and Audioslave tunes along with solo songs and covers -- recorded during Cornell's spring tour which have been captured on the "Songbook" album along with a studio version of "The Keeper" from the movie "Machine Gun Preacher."

The album is out Nov. 21, the same day Cornell's current 30-date international "Songbook" tour hits New York's Carnegie Hall before continuing west and finishing up on Dec. 17 in San Diego.

And lest you think he'll rest after that. Think again. Soundgarden's first studio album since 1996's "Down On The Upside," is "mostly done" according to Cornell. He says the band will probably finish up the last couple of songs over the holidays to ready the untitled album hopefully for release sometime in Spring 2012.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.