Depeche Mode Confirms New Album Track List

Depeche Mode Unveils Summer Tour Plans

Depeche Mode Unveils Summer Tour Plans

Depeche Mode has revealed the track list for its 12th album, "Sounds of the Universe," which is due April 21 from EMI. First single "Wrong" will be available March 9.

As previously reported, "Universe" is led by the three-minute, hard-edged single "Wrong," which keyboardist Andy Fletcher told was an antidote to "bubble-gum pop" inappropriate "for where we are in society at this moment."

Frontman David Gahan spells primary songwriter Martin Gore on tracks like "Hole to Feed," based on a Bo Diddley beat, while Gore takes the mic on the ballad "Jezebel." Other songs include the midtempo stomper "Peace" and the rhythm-driven "Fragile Tension."

Fletcher says Gore was writing at an unusually prolific pace once the band finished touring in support of 2005's "Playing the Angel." "Martin generally doesn't write songs in the studio. He used to write songs in the gaps between, but this time he spent a whole year writing," Fletcher says. "It's quite amazing, really. He was ringing me every month saying, 'I've got another tune!'"

Depeche Mode begins an international stadium tour May 10 in Tel Aviv; North American dates are taking shape for August and September.

Here is the track list for "Sounds of the Universe":

"In Chains"
"Hole To Feed"
"Fragile Tension"
"Little Soul"
"In Sympathy"
"Come Back"
"Miles Away" / "The Truth Is"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.