Kings Of Convenience Make New 'Declaration'

Kings Of Convenience Make New 'Declaration'

Norwegian rock duo Kings Of Convenience will break a five-year silence this fall with its third studio album, "Declaration of Dependence," due Oct. 20 from Astralwerks. The 13-track set is led in the U.S. by the single "Boat Behind."

"Declaration of Dependence" is the follow-up to KOC's 2004 album "Riot on an Empty Street," which has sold a career-best 78,000 copies in the United States, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Recorded in Bergen, Norway, and Italy, the new album is more stripped-down than either of its predecessors, with a host of the tracks consisting of nothing more than voice and acoustic guitar.

"Declaration of Dependence" begins with the hushed voices and plaintive guitar plucking of Eirik Glambek Boe and Erlend Oye on "24-25," a wistful look back at "dreams burned."

"Mrs. Cold" is one of the more up-tempo track on the album, its toe-tapping rhythm accented by strings and upright bass. The same instrumentation can be found on "Boat Behind," a jaunty tale of a rekindled relationship.

Other highlights include the burnished, Simon & Garfunkel-ish folk of "My Ship Isn't Pretty" and "Power of Not Knowing," which showcases the duo's finger-picking prowess. Elsewhere, the pair utilizes an uncommon falsetto for the harmony vocals on "Freedom and Its Owner" and "Me in You."

Kings Of Convenience's members have spent the past several years working on side projects; Oye with the Whitest Boy Alive and Boe with Kommode, which features members of his pre-Kings Of Convenience band Skog.

Tour plans have yet to be solidified, but the group is not expected to hit the road in North America until 2010.

Here is the track list for "Declaration of Dependence":

"Mrs. Cold"
"Me in You"
"Boat Behind"
"Rule My World"
"My Ship Isn't Pretty"
"Power of Not Knowing"
"Peacetime Resistance"
"Freedom and Its Owner"
"Scars on Land"
"Second to Numb"
"Riot on an Empty Street"