Ryan Adams Already Back In The Studio

Ryan Adams Already Back In The Studio
Ryan Adams' latest album with his band the Cardinals, "Cardinology," is barely a month old, but the artist is already back in the studio tracking demos for more than a dozen new songs under the working album title "Dear Impossible."

Songs put to tape with engineer Noah Goldstein include "Firefly," "So Quiet, It's Loud," "Goodbye Sunshine," "Universe Size Arms," the title cut, "Please, Hold On," "Souls Full of Holes," "OK, I Surrender," "Wild & Hopeless," "Kaleidoscope Eyes," "Your Name Here," "Mirror-Gold," "The Lights" and "Lost in Space."

Adams apparently intends to incorporate contributions from the Cardinals at a later date. "Songs need seasons. So it's springtime for these," he wrote on his blog. "The guys, my BFF's in the Cards, all gave me way thumbs up on almost all of them so I figured why not get the working model down now."

The artist describes the material as similar to his 2004 album "Love Is Hell," and "like a more pop, melodic style." He's also drawn comparisons to Sonic Youth's "Sister" and the Smiths' "Hatful of Hollow." "But man, these tunes, they're tiny little things compared to those records," Adams says.

The Cardinals began another run of support dates with Oasis tomorrow (Dec. 3) in Oakland, Calif., and will then head to Australia and New Zealand in late January. A headlining tour begins Feb. 20 in New Haven, Conn.