Tegan and Sara, Metric Make the Polaris Music Prize Short List

Catie Laffoon

Tegan and Sara backstage at Coachella

The short list for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize was revealed in Toronto on Tuesday, with Metric, METZ, Purity Ring and Tegan and Sara among the ten acts in the running for Canada's best album of the year.

The announcement was made at a media event at The Drake Hotel in Toronto, by Polaris founder Steve Jordan. Kathleen Edwards and Shad will host the gala, being held on Sept. 23 at The Carlu in Toronto.

The short list also incudes Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Zaki Ibrahim, Colin Stetson, A Tribe Called Red, Whitehorse and Young Galaxy.

"This moody and exciting list is proof that the 'Canadian sound' has no stylistic boundaries," Jordan said of today's announcement. "In equal measure we welcome the seven rookies and three repeat nominees to this year's Short List."

The list was determined by an independent jury of over 200 music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers. Eleven people will be plucked from that jury pool to select the winner on the night of the gala. The eligibility period for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize ran from June 1, 2012 to May 31, 2013.

Feist won last year's prize -- which includes $30,000 -- for her album "Metals.'

The 2013 Short List Includes:

Godspeed You! Black Emperor - 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
Zaki Ibrahim - Every Opposite
Metric - Synthetica
Purity Ring - Shrines
Colin Stetson - New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Tegan and Sara - Heartthrob
A Tribe Called Red - Nation II Nation
Whitehorse - The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss
Young Galaxy - Ultramarine