MGMT Announces Third Album Details


Experimental pop duo MGMT has announced that their long-awaited third album will be self-titled and released on Sept. 17 through Columbia Records.

"MGMT" finds band members Andrew VanWyndgarden and Ben Goldwasser once again collaborating with Dave Friedmann, who also co-produced their last two albums. The album includes previously released single “Alien Days” and a cover of “Introspection” by 1960s psychedelic band Faine Jade.

According to a press statement, the band "experimented with various in-studio writing processes, allowing the music to tell them where it wanted to go." "Your Life is a Lie" will be the first music video released from the set.

“Congratulations,” the band’s previous album, debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard 200 and has sold 219,000 copies to date, according to Nielsen SoundScan. Its debut album "Oracular Spectacular" produced hits like "Kids," "Time To Pretend" and "Electric Feel."

MGMT are currently on tour and recently played the Firefly Festival in Dover, Delaware where they performed a new song.

The duo is set to headline a number of festivals this summer and will embark on a European tour in the fall. A US tour is scheduled for November and December, though dates have not been announced.

Here is the track list for "MGMT":

1. Alien Days.
2. Cool Song No. 2
3. Mystery Disease
4. Introspection
5. Your Life is a Lie
6. A Good Sadness
7. Astro-Mancy
8. I Love You Too, Death
9. Plenty of Girls in the Sea
10. An Orphan of Fortune


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.