Pet Shop Boys Announce 'Electric' Album

Pet Shop Boys

Pet Shop Boys will go "Electric" on July 15. The legendary dance-pop duo announced on Tuesday the release of their first studio album on their own imprint, x2, a partnership with Kobalt Label Services. The band announced last month that they were leaving Parlophone after 28 years.

"Electric" features eight new Pet Shop Boys songs, plus a cover of Bruce Springsteen's anti-war track "Last to Die." Stuart Price, best known for his work with Madonna and The Killers, produced the album, which band members Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe call "banging."

"'Electric' is very much set on the dance floor," they said in a statement on Tuesday. "Our latest album often evolves as a response to our previous album and, whereas 'Elysium' had a reflective mood, 'Electric' is pretty banging!"

The album leads off the song "Axis":

Price said the album's sound was developed via "various techniques between old school synth and drum machine programming and new school computer mangling."

The British rapper Example lends his voice to album to the album's eight track, "Thursday."

"Electric" Tracklisting and album art:

1. Axis
2. Bolshy
3. Love is a bourgeois construct
4. Fluorescent
5. Inside a dream
6. The last to die
7. Shouting in the evening
8. Thursday (featuring Example)
9. Vocal