Pearl Jam's Stone Gossard To Launch 'Moonlander' Solo Album

Stone Gossard
(photo by Karen Loria)

Stone Gossard

Pearl Jam's Stone Gossard is set to release a new solo album, "Moonlander," on June 25 through Monkeywrench Records. The guitarist has enlisted musicians including fellow Pearl Jam bandmate Matt Cameron, fellow Brad bandmate Regan Hagar, singer/songwriter Pete Droge and others to appear on Gossard's new solo effort.

"Moonlander's" 11 songs will also be released song-by-song -- with a new track and original Gossard artwork posted to each Tuesday starting today with "I Need Something Different," which is available for free download. Fans can also get most of "Moonlander" in the form of a two four-song digital EPs, "Apollo" and "Luna," which will become available on iTunes on May 7 and June 4.

The follow-up to 2001's "Bayleaf," the new solo album's songs were recorded between 2003 and 2011. "Over the last year, I went through all of my old demos and recordings that weren't used as Pearl Jam or Brad songs and picked my favorites," Gossard said.

Gossard's "Moonlander" comes as he also gears up for plenty of Pearl Jam activity. PJ, who itself is in the process of recording a new album, will be playing Chicago's Wrigley Field on July 19 and London, Ontario on July 16. Pearl Jam is also set as one of the headliners of the Voodoo Music and Arts Experience in New Orleans, which is Nov. 1-3.

Pearl Jam, NIN To Play Voodoo | PJ's McCready 'Stoked' For New Album 

Here is the full "Moonlander" Track List:
1. "I Need Something Different"
2. "Moonlanding"
3. "Both Live"
4. "Your Flames"
5. "Battle Cry"
6. "King of the Junkies"
7. "Remain"
8. "I Don't Want To Go To Bed"
9. "Bomb's Away"
10. "Witch Doctor"
11. "Beyond Measure"

In addition to Cameron, Hagar, and Droge -- the latter of which also executive produced "Moonlander" -- Gossard's album also includes appearances by Matt Chamberlain, Keith Lowe, Barbara Ireland, Hans Teuber, Gregg Keplinger and Brandon Harper.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.