Thirty Seconds To Mars Sets 'Love Lust Faith + Dreams' Release Date

Jared Leto

New single "Up In The Air" to debut -- in space! -- on Monday.

Thirty Seconds To Mars has announced that its fourth studio album, "Love Lust Faith + Dreams," will be released on May 21 through Virgin Records. The arena-rock group also has grand plans for debuting its first single.

"Up in the Air" is exactly where the band's eagerly anticipated new single debuted. In an improbable team-up with NASA, the first copy of the new single was recently launched into space via a SpaceX cargo mission, where it will be first played by astronauts orbiting 230 miles above Earth on the International Space Station at midnight GMT.

Before that, frontman Jared Leto and the rest of the band will be on hand at Mission Control Houston field fan-submitted questions. The whole spectacle can be streamed live at NASA's official website from 1:10 to 1:25 PM EST. For those down on Earth, the single premiered on radio on Monday morning, and will hit all digital retailers at midnight.


"Love Lust Faith + Dreams" is Thirty Seconds to Mars' first studio album since 2009's "This Is War," which produced the hit singles "This Is War" and "Kings and Queens"  and has sold 460,000 copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan. The album artwork is credited to artist Damien Hirst and is part of his "Spot Paintings" series.

The group -- comprised of Leto, Shannon leto and Tomo Milicevic -- wrote and recorded "Love Lust Faith + Dreams" in Europe, India and California, and production was handled by Jared Leto and Steve Lillywhite. Previously, Thirty Seconds To Mars supported "This Is War" with a massive arena tour, playing over 300 shows across the globe.

Here is the track list to Thirty Seconds To Mars' "Love Lust Faith + Dreams":

1. Birth
2. Conquistador          
3. Up In The Air
4. City Of Angels
5. The Race
6. End Of All Days
7. Pyres Of Varanasi
8. Bright Lights
9. Do Or Die
10. Convergence        
11. Northern Lights
12. Depuis Le Début