Songwriting Hall of Fame Announces 2013 Inductees: Aerosmith, Foreigner Members & More

Born in the U.S.A.: Top 50 Stars of the 50 States
Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images

Massachusetts: Aerosmith. The "Bad Boys from Boston" bests such worthy fellow Bay Staters as James Taylor, New Kids on the Block, the Cars, Boston, Dropkick Murphys and Mighty Mighty Bosstones.

Tony Hatch, Holly Knight and JD Souther will also be honored at the June 13 ceremony.

The Songwriting Hall of Fame's 44th annual slate of inductees have been announced: Tony Hatch, Mick Jones & Lou Gramm, Holly Knight, JD Souther and Steven Tyler & Joe Perry will join previous recipients like Willie Nelson, Paul Simon, Sam Cooke and John Lennon.

"Each of our 2013 inductees has been responsible for captivating the world with their creativity for decades, serving up a rich variety of songs for our global soundtrack," said Hall chairman Jimmy Webb in a release. "We are looking forward to celebrating their contributions at our Annual Awards Gala."

The ceremony will be held June 13 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Manhattan.

Steven Tyler and Joe Perry co-founded Aerosmith in 1970 with guitarist Ray Tabano, bassist Tom Hamilton and drummer Joey Kramer. In addition to the Songwriters Hall of Fame induction, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry were recently announced as the next recipients of ASCAP's Founders Award.

Tony Hatch will be honored for his 53-plus-year career penning hits such as "Sugar and Spice," below, as well as his long partnership with Petula Clark.

Foreigner co-founders Mick Jones & Lou Gramm will be remembered for songs like "Feels Like the First Time," below, as well as production work for artists like Billy Joel and Eric Clapton.

Holly Knight's 36-year career saw her work with artists like Chaka Khan, Pat Benatar, Aerosmith, KISS, as well as chart-topping work with Tina Turner. She wrote "Space," below, for Cheap Trick.

JD Souther had ten of his songs recorded by Linda Ronstadt, as well as co-writing several Eagles songs, including "Victim of Love," below.

In addition to their yearly inductees, the Songwriters Hall of Fame has a list of special awards, including the Abe Olman Publisher Award, Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award, the Towering Song Award, the Towering Performance Award and the Hal David Starlight Award, the recipients of which have yet to be announced.