Natalie Maines Announces 'Mother' Solo Album

Natalie Maines

Natalie Maines

Debut effort by Dixie Chick co-produced with Ben Harper, includes songs by Pink Floyd, Eddie Vedder and Jeff Buckley

Dixie Chicks lead singer Natalie Maines' long-awaited debut solo album, "Mother," a rock-leaning collection co-produced by Ben Harper featuring songs by artists ranging from Pink Floyd to Jeff Buckley, will be released May 7 on Columbia.

"I wanted this music to be very different from the Dixie Chicks," Maines says in emailed announcement. "Lots of albums by lead singers might just as well have been made by the band, but I think this is very different from anything the Chicks could make. That separation and distinction was important."

"Mother" is comprised of ten songs, including "Without You" by Eddie Vedder, "Lover You Should've Come Over," off Buckley's landmark "Grace" album, and "Come Cryin' to Me," co-written by Maines' fellow Chicks Martie Maguire and Emily Robison.

The title song is off Pink Floyd's "The Wall" and was one of the initial tracks Maines and Harper recorded in his studio. It was previously included on the soundtrack for "West of Memphis," about three imprisoned teenagers in Arkansas known as the West Memphis Three, whose cause Maines has championed in recent years.

With the Dixie Chicks, Maines has scored three No. 1 albums on the Billboard 200 chart, including the trio's most recent studio release "Taking the Long Way" (2006). They've also sold 27 million albums in the U.S. -- the biggest selling country group of the SoundScan era (1991-present).

While there remains no word on new music from the group, the 13-time Grammy winners have lined up three Canadian festival dates for July. Until then, Maines says she'll put "all my efforts" toward her solo album.

"I feel completely dedicated to it, and I want to give it everything I can," she says.

"Mother" Track Listing:

Without You
Free Life
Silver Bell
Lover You Should've Come Over
Vein in Vain
Come Cryin’ To Me
I'd Run Away
Take It On Faith