Billboard Bits: Jakob Dylan, Love, DirecTV/SXSW

Columbia Records and Starbucks Entertainment will co-release the solo debut from Wallflowers frontman Jakob Dylan.

Columbia Records and Starbucks Entertainment will co-release the solo debut from Wallflowers frontman Jakob Dylan. Due May 13, the largely acoustic "Seeing Things" was produced by Rick Rubin and recorded at his Los Angeles home last year.

Dylan will tour in support of the album; performances at this summer's Bonnaroo and Rothbury festivals are already confirmed. The artist first began testing the solo waters in the fall of 2006, when he recorded material for the short-lived ABC drama "Six Degrees."

Here is the track list for "Seeing Things":

"Evil Is Alive And Well"
"Valley Of The Low Sun"
"All Day And All Night"
"Everybody Pays As They Go"
"Will It Grow"
"I Told You I Couldn't Stop"
"War Is Kind"
"Something Good This Way Comes"
"On Up The Mountain"
"This End Of The Telescope"

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

Love's revered 1967 album "Forever Changes" will be celebrated in an expanded edition due April 22 via Rhino. The big treat for collectors is a previously unreleased mix of the entire alum save for closer "You Set the Scene," which first appeared on a 2001 Rhino reissue of the set.

In addition, the label has uncovered 10 bonus tracks for the second disc, six of which are previously unreleased. Among them is "Andmoreagain" with an alternate electric backing track, a different mix for outtake "Wonder People (I Do Wonder)" and a cover of Sam The Sham and the Pharoahs' "Wooly Bully."

Look for a June 7 "Forever Changes" tribute concert to be held at the Malibu (Calif.) Performing Arts Center. Love frontman Arthur Lee died of leukemia in August of 2006.

Here is the bonus material for "Forever Changes" (* = previously unreleased):

Alternate mix:
"Alone Again Or" *
"A House Is Not A Motel" *
"Andmoreagain" *
"The Daily Planet" *
"Old Man" *
"The Red Telephone" *
"Maybe The People Would Be The Times Or Between Clark And Hilldale" *
"Live And Let Live" *
"The Good Humor Man He Sees Everything Like This" *
"Bummer In The Summer" *
"You Set The Scene"

"Wonder People (I Do Wonder)" -- Original Mix (Outtake) *
"Hummingbirds" -- Demo
"A House Is Not A Motel" -- Backing Track *
"Andmoreagain" -- Alternate Electric Backing Track *
"The Red Telephone" -- Tracking Sessions Highlights *
"Wooly Bully" -- Outtake *
"Alone Again Or" -- Mono Single Remix *
"Your Mind And We Belong Together" -- Tracking Sessions Highlights
"Your Mind And We Belong Together"
"Laughing Stock"

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

The full lineup is still coming together, but can reveal that X, Daniel Lanois, Sia, Daryl Hall, Earlimart, Hanson, Robyn and Sons & Daughters are among the bands that will be featured in DirecTV's live South by Southwest programming.

Also on board are Dizzee Rascal, Ryan Cabrera, Tift Merritt, Martha Wainwright, Katy Perry and Carbon/Silicon, featuring former Clash principal Mick Jones.

For its first such broadcasts in '07, DirecTV built two studios to film live sets by artists beyond their regular Austin showcases. Matt Pinfield will host the segments, which will air March 13-15.

-- Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.