Year in Music 2017

Billboard Bits: Trey Anastasio, Foxy Brown, Jay Brannan, Brendan Canning

Trey Anastasio releases live album; Foxy Brown felony assault trial postponed; Jay Brannan releases debut album; Brendan Canning releases solo disc

Ex-Phish frontman Trey Anastasio will release “Original Boardwalk Style” -- a live album recorded with an iteration of his solo band dubbed the Undectet -- on June 10 through his own Rubber Jungle Records.

The album was recorded at the House of Blues in Atlantic City, N.J., on December 30 and 31, 2006, coming at the end of the band's tour -- and just 15 days after Anastasio's much-publicized arrest in New York on for driving while under the influence of drugs and with a suspended license.

The Undectet includes Tony Hall (bass, vocals), Ray Paczkowski (keyboards), Jeff Sipe (drums), Christina Durfee (vocals, synthesizer), Jennifer Hartswick (vocals, trumpet), Peter Apfelbaum (saxophone, flute), Russell Remington (saxophone, flute), Jeff Cressman (trombone), Dave Grippo (saxophone) and Cyro Baptista (percussion).

Proceeds from the sale of the album, which will be released in different CD and vinyl configurations, will benefit the Seven Below Arts Initiative, established to foster artistic development and support arts education in the state of Vermont.

Here’s the CD/digital track list for “Original Boardwalk Style”:

1. "Drifting"
2. "Plasma"
3. "Alive Again"
4. "Mud City"
5. "Simple Twist Up Dave"
6. "Tuesday"
7. "Money Love and Change"
8. "Mr. Completely"

Bonus track (digital only): First Tube

Here's the vinyl configuration for “Original Boardwalk Style”:

Side A
1. "Drifting"
2. "Plasma"

Side B
1. "Shine"
2. "Alive Again"
3. "Mud City"

Side C
1. "Simple Twist Up Dave"
2. "Tuesday"

Side D
1. "Money, Love and Change"
2. "Mr. Completely"

-- Susan Visakowitz, N.Y.

Rapper Foxy Brown’s hearing for pending felony assault charges stemming from a 2007 incident was postponed this morning (May 5) until tomorrow (May 6), according to the Brooklyn Supreme Court.

Contrary to previous reports by ABC News Channel 7, Foxy did not receive a bench warrant for failing to appear in court this morning, according to the office of Judge John Walsh, who is presiding over the case.

A representative for Foxy Brown had no comment.

-- Hillary Crosley, N.Y.

Jay Brannan will release his debut album “goddamned” July 1 as a digital download and July 15 on CD via his own Great Depression Records.

Brannan, who gained attention with his performance in John Cameron Mitchell’s film “Shortbus,” recorded the album at Los Angeles’ Village Recording Studios with producer Will Golden (Meiko).

Brannan had a song called “Soda Shop” featured on the “Shortbus” soundtrack; the song was also released via Conor Oberst’s Team Love label.

Here are Jay Brannan’s tour dates:

July 11: Boston (The Paradise)
July 13: Washington, D.C. (9:30 Club)
July 14: Brooklyn, N.Y. (Music Hall of Williamsburg)
July 16: New York (Highline Ballroom)
July 18: Atlanta (Vinyl)
July 20: Dallas (The Loft)
July 22: Los Angeles @ El Rey
July 24: San Francisco @ Bottom of The Hill
July 25: Portland, Ore. @ Doug Fir
July 26: Seattle @ Triple Door
July 28: Chicago (Lakeshore Theatre

-- Susan Visakowitz, N.Y.

The next installment in the “Broken Social Scene Presents” series, Brendan Canning’s “Something For All Of Us...,” arrives July 22 via Arts & Crafts.

The series kicked off last fall with Kevin Drew's “Spirit If....”

Drew and Canning are the core duo behind Canadian indie rock collective Broken Social Scene.

“Something For All of Us...“ was recorded and produced in Toronto by Canning along with Ryan Kondrat and John La Magna. Guest appearances include Stars' Amy Milan, Metric's James Shaw, Jason Collett, Land of Talk's Liz Powell and fellow Broken Social Scene mates Drew, Justin Peroff, Andrew Whiteman and Ohad Benchetrit.

Songs from “Something For All of Us...” will be included during Broken Social Scene's live show.

Here’s the track list for “Something For All of Us...”:

1. “Something For All of Us”
2. “Chameleon”
3. “Hit the Wall”
4. “Snowballs & Icicles”
5. “Churches Under the Stairs”
6. “Love is New”
7. “Antique Bull”
8. “All the Best Wooden Toys are Made in Germany”
9. “Been at it So Long””
10. “Possible Gernade”
11. “Take Care, Look Up”

Here are Broken Social Scene’s tour dates:

June 15 Manchester, Tenn. (Bonnaroo)
Aug. 2 Chicago (Lollapalooza)
Aug. 24 San Francisco (Outside Lands Festival)

-- Susan Visakowitz, N.Y.