Macklemore Tells Kendrick Lamar It 'Sucks That I Robbed You' After GRAMMYs

Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis swept four wins at the 56th annual Grammy Awards Sunday evening, while Kendrick Lamar, who was nominated in seven categories, took not one Grammy home.

Following his win, Macklemore sent a text message to Lamar and later posted the message on Instagram.

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis Sweep Rap Categories at GRAMMYs

"You got robbed. I wanted you to win. You should have," the "Thrift Shop" rapper wrote. "It's weird and sucks that I robbed you. I was gonna say that during the speech. Then the music started playing during my speech, and I froze."

Added Macklemore: "Anyway, you know what it is. Congrats on this year and your music. Appreciate you as an artist and as a friend. Much love."

In a more in-depth caption to the Instagram photo, Macklemore admitted that Lamar "deserved best rap album" honors on Sunday night. Wrote the Seattle rapper: "I'm honored and completely blown away to win anything much less 4 Grammys. But in that category, he should have won IMO. And that's taking nothing away from The Heist. Just giving GKMC [Good Kid, M.A.A.D City] it's proper respect."

On the morning of the Grammys, Macklemore and Lamar had exchanged a back-and-forth conversation preparing one another for the big night ahead of them.

Macklemore wrote: "Lets get it bro! wake up call! we worked hard as f---!" Rapper Lamar responded: "You already know homie. Time to celebrate!!! Congrats my friend. What a f------ year."

Twitter users were not all supportive of Macklemore's win, as actor and comedian Michael Rapaport displayed some anger on the rapper's successful night, calling Macklemore "a damn joke."

Macklemore and Lewis swept the awards in the rap categories they were nominated in: best rap song and performance for "Thrift Shop," the second biggest seller of 2013 with 6.15 million downloads, according to SoundScan, and best rap album for the million-selling "The Heist." The pair also won a Grammy for best new artist of the year.