Americana Awards Nominations: Lucinda Williams, Sturgill Simpson & Shakey Graves Lead

Lucinda Williams

 (photo: James Minchin III)

The Americana Music Association announced nominees for the 14th annual Honors & Awards show Thursday (May 14) at a press conference held at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum's Ford Theater in Nashville.

While it was a big afternoon for Lucinda Williams, Sturgill Simpson and Shakey Graves -- who led nominations with three each -- also noteworthy was Lee Ann Womack being mentioned twice, as The Way I'm Livin' was nominated in the album of the year category, and the veteran performer is in the running for the overall artist of the year. The album -- Womack's first in six years -- hit the Top-20 on the Billboard Country Albums chart in September.

Lucinda Williams Covers Lou Reed, Announces New Album at NYC Concert

Other noteworthy nominees include The Mavericks, Nikki Lane, John Hiatt and Steve Earle. The Americana Music Association's celebrates its 16th annual Festival and Conference, Sept. 14-20, with the 14th annual Honors & Awards set for Wednesday, Sept. 16, at the historic Ryman Auditorium.

A full list of this year's nominees and categories is below:

Album of the Year
And the War Came - Shakey Graves; Produced by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Chris Boosahda
Down Where the Spirit Meets the Bone - Lucinda Williams; Produced by Lucinda Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz
Metamodern Sounds in Country Music - Sturgill Simpson; Produced by Dave Cobb
The Way I'm Livin' -Lee Ann Womack; Produced by Frank Liddell
Tomorrow Is My Turn - Rhiannon Giddens; Produced by T-Bone Burnett

Artist of the Year
Rhiannon Giddens
Jason Isbell
Sturgill Simpson
Lucinda Williams
Lee Ann Womack

Duo/Group of the Year
Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn
The Lone Bellow
The Mavericks
Punch Brothers
Shovels & Rope

Emerging Artist of the Year
First Aid Kit
Nikki Lane
Doug Seegers
Shakey Graves

Instrumentalist of the Year
Hubby Jenkins
Laur Joamets
Greg Leisz
John Leventhal
Stuart Mathis

Song of the Year
"Dearly Departed" - Shakey Graves; Written by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Esme' Patterson
"East Side Of Town" - Lucinda Williams; Written by Lucinda Williams
"Terms Of My Surrender" - John Hiatt; Written by John Hiatt
"Turtles All The Way Down" - Sturgill Simpson; Written by Sturgill Simpson
"You're The Best Lover That I Ever Had" - Steve Earle & the Dukes; Written by Steve Earle