Marty Stuart Announces Double Album (Exclusive Details + Song Premiere)

Marty Stuart
James Minchin III

Marty Stuart has a new double album in the works. "Saturday Night & Sunday Morning" arrives Sept. 30 on his own Superlatone label, and Billboard has an exclusive premiere of one of its tracks. Listen to "Rough Around the Edges," a pedal steel-covered shuffle, right here.

"A few years ago, I rededicated myself to traditional country music," he told Billboard. "We spent some time in RCA Studios in Nashville, where so much of modern country was created, and we worked to imitate that style of production and songwriting."

Stuart has netted five Grammy Awards during his career. He also has amassed over 30 chart entries on the Billboard Country Singles chart between 1985 and 2004. His biggest hit remains "The Whiskey Ain’t Workin," a 1991 collaboration with Travis Tritt, which peaked at No. 2 on the singles chart the following year. 

The set is conceived as two albums, "Saturday Night – Rough Around The Edges," as well as the Gospel disc "Sunday Morning  - Cathedral," which will serve as a sequel to the 2008 disc "Souls' Chapel," one of the most critically acclaimed projects of Stuart’s carer. Joining Stuart on the latter are the Staple Singers on "Uncloudy Day." The album features Stuart's crack band of musicians, The Fabulous Superlatives, comprised of "Cousin" Kenny Vaughan, "Handsome" Harry Stinson, and the "Apostle" Paul Martin.

The new album arrives on the heels of "American Ballads: The photographs of Marty Stuart," a brand new exhibit of Stuart's photography at Nashville's Frist Center for The Visual Arts. 

"Saturday Night & Sunday Morning" Tracklist:

'Saturday Night'
1. Jailhouse
2. I'm Blue, I'm Lonesome
3. Geraldine
4. Rough Around The Edges
5. When It Comes To Loving You
6. Sad House Big Party
7. Talkin' To The Wall
8. Lifes Ups And Downs
9. Look At That Girl
10. Old, Old House
11. Streamline 

'Sunday Morning'
1. Uncloudy Day (featuring The Staple Singers)
2. Boogie Woogie
3. Long Walk To Heaven
4. That Gospel Music
5. The Gospel Way
6. Mercy Number 1
7. Firing Line
8. God Will Make A Way
9. Good News
10. Angels Rock Me To Sleep
11. Cathedral
12. Heaven