The Band Perry to Open ACM Awards

The Band Perry perform at New York's Norwood Club

Country trio The Band Perry have been announced as the opening act at the 49th annual Academy of Country Music. The family band will rock their new single "Chainsaw" on the April 6 telecast, which will also feature a tribute to Merle Haggard and a performance by Hunter Hayes.

They join previously announced performers Eric Church, Toby Keith, Lady Antebellum, Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Miranda Lambert, Blake Shelton, George Strait and Keith Urban.

Lambert and Strait will perform "Tonight the Bottle Let Me Down" and "I'm A Lonesome Fugitive" in a special tribute medley to Haggard, the recipient of the Crystal Milestone Award. Garth Brooks is set to present the honor to the country icon.

Additionally, Hayes will perform his hit "Invisible" as part of the Child Hunger Ends Here campaign.

Lambert is co-leader in nominations this go-round, with seven including entertainer of the year, female vocalist and song of the year, for "Mama's Broken Heart." Tim McGraw also has seven. Urban is right behind Lambert with six nods, including male vocalist of the year. 

Shelton and Bryan are returning as co-hosts and will also compete in the entertainer of the year category. See a full list of nominees here

The 49th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards air live April 6 on CBS.